
 

DCF LEGISLATIVE 
TESTIMONY 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

November 3, 2021  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Page 2 of 5 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TESTIMONY OF 

Scott Henricks, Director of Permanency 

Department for Children and Families 

 

WRITTEN TESTIMONY ON 

Onboarding: Requirements for Becoming a Foster Parent 

 

Chair  
Senator Hilderbrand 

 

Vice Chair  
Representative Concannon 

 

Ranking Minority  
Senator Faust-Goudeau 

 

and 

Members of the Committee 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Page 3 of 5 

 

 

 

Good afternoon, Chairman Hildebrand, Vice Chair Concannon, and members of the committee.  My name is 

Scott Henricks, and I am the Director of Permanency at the Department for Children and Families. 

 

 

 

In 1919, Kansas passed K.S.A. 65-501, requiring the licensure of programs providing childcare services to 

children. The law arose from the need to protect children from environments in group settings which put 

children’s health and safety at risk. The state, by its actions, acknowledged its responsibility to protect the 

health, safety and well-being of children in out of home care.  A license is required if providing care for 

children younger than 16 years of age.  If a facility only takes children over the age of 16, Kansas Law does not 

require the facility/home be licensed. 

The Kansas Department for Children and Families (DCF) has regulatory oversight of childcare facilities; Child 

Placement Agency is defined in K.S.A. 65-503 and Family Foster Home is defined in K.A.R. 28-4-311.   

 

 

 

An individual(s) who is interested in providing foster care services, selects a licensed Child Placement Agency 

(CPA) to sponsor their application and licensure as a Family Foster Home (FFH).  This sponsoring agency will: 

• Assure the potential applicant(s) meets regulatory requirements and assess their readiness to serve 

children and youth in DCF custody. 

• Are 21 years of age 

• Sufficient income or resources to meet basic needs of foster family 

• Participate in a family assessment 

• Ensure the potential applicant(s) completes the pre-service curriculum as provided through the 

Children’s Alliance of Kansas Agency (CAK). 

• Provide further training and guidance on the policies of DCF and KS regulations. 

 

Once these tasks are complete, the CPA will submit the FFH application to DCF Licensing Division, which 

coordinates an onsite inspection of the home. During this inspection, the DCF Licensing Worker ensure all 

regulations and policies have been followed. If there are areas of the home which need correction, the applicant 

is provided 5-days to make necessary changes. For instance, the home may need to add more smoke detectors or 

install a lock on a cabinet.  An exception and/or relative waiver request may be submitted with a compliance 

action plan and may be granted if the exception/waiver does not violate statute, health or safety. Once all items 

are corrected, the home receives a license, which is valid for the specific address and individual(s) listed on the 

license.  The license issued is non-expiring and renews annually.   
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Once a Family Foster Home is fully licensed with DCF, they may begin taking children and youth as 

placements. The home’s sponsoring CPA will provide a worker to visit with the family and the children in the 

home on an at least monthly basis, more if needed.  The home is also listed in DCF’s Placement Management 

System, CareMatch, so the Child Welfare Case Management Providers (CMPs) are aware of the home and the 

available placement for you in their care. DCF, CPAs and CMPs work in collaboration to support children and 

the families providing foster services.  

*Of note, there are accelerated processes established for placement of children and the submission of FFH 

licensing applications for non-related kinship and relative placement homes. 

 

On the next page you’ll find a flow chart following the Foster Home Licensing process for both a family and 

individual: 
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below flow chart for persons interested in becoming a Licensed Family Foster Home.   

  

 

 

 

 

 

A family or individual wish to become a Licensed Foster Home 

1: First stop is for a potential applicant 

to complete their pre-service training 

through Children’s Alliance of Kansas. 

(http://childally.org)  

2: Potential applicant then connects 

with a Child Placing Agency (CPA) to 

continue their education and training, 

as well as the licensure process. Please 

note some are already connected with a 

CPA in step 1.  

5: Once officially Licensed Family 

Foster Home and can take placement 

of children and youth. The home’s 

placement preferences are noted in 

CareMatch (DCF Placement 

Management System) and the CMPs 

will begin connecting with the 

sponsoring CPA for placement.  

Training Practice Note: The approved pre-service training can be one of 

three options depending on the potential applicant’s availability and 

location in KS. All are also available virtually. They may complete: 

• Trauma-Informed Partnering for Permanence and Safety: Model 
Approach to Partnerships in Parenting (TIPS-MAPP) 

• Deciding Together (DT) 

• National Training and Development Curriculum (NTDC) 

Privatization Practice Note: CPAs or Child Placing Agencies 

are the agencies responsible for sponsoring and 

supporting licensed foster homes who have placement of 

children and youth in foster care. Child Welfare Case 

Management Providers (CMPs) have the responsibility of 

ensuring case management of the children and youth in 

care. Thus, CPAs, CMPs and DCF work in collaboration to 

provide care for children and families.  

3. The applicant and the CPA worker 

complete the licensure packet and 

required documents. This includes 

background checks, inspection of the 

home, family and health assessments.   

4. Once the packet is completed, 

everything is submitted to DCF for 

review. An inspection by a DCF 

Licensing Worker is completed. Once 

these tasks are done the home is issued 

a license.   

Licensing Practice Note: If there is a non-compliance issue 

noted during the DCF Licensure Inspection, the applicant 

and their CPA will have 5 days to make corrections.   A home 

may request an exception to a FFH regulation to the DCF 

Licensing Division. 

CPA Practice Note: All Child Placing Agencies (CPAs) must 

ensure an applicant completes necessary licensure packet 

and are familiar with policies and regulations. CPAs have 

workers assigned to carry a caseload of foster homes and 

each worker must visit the family and the child at least once 

a month when a child is placed in the family’s home. 

Background check requirements for all residents of the 

home include: 

• Federal fingerprint and Sex Offender Registry 

check (ages 14 and up) 

• KBI name-based check (ages 10 and up) 

• Kansas Child Abuse/Neglect Central Registry 

check (ages 10 and up) 


